Georgia law similarly provides for revocation of driver’s, hunting and professional licenses, but the Kansas experience is in the news today:
The last item on the list is a prerequisite for obtaining a hunting license this year in Kansas. Anyone who is substantially behind won’t get a license to hunt, fish, camp at a state park or put a boat into state waters.
Kansas ranks 34th in the nation in percentage of children receiving child support they are due, according to Michelle Ponce, communications director for Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services. There are 131,000 open child support cases in the state, 97,000 have support orders, meaning the parent is behind, late or not making court-ordered payments, and $610 million is past due to Kansas children.
HB 2393, enacted by the 2007 Legislature, gives Child Support Enforcement another tool for collecting overdue payments.
During the past week, the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks has mailed letters to individuals identified as owning significant (usually $5,000 or more, according to Ponce, although the amount is not set by law), and notifying them they will not be able to purchase recreational licenses. When they apply for a license through the state’s electronic system, their name will come up with a "denied" message.
Payment of the entire amount is not required, Ponce stressed, but the person must make an initial payment, and arrange a schedule for regular future payments. Once arrangements have been made, SRS will remove the name from the denied list.
Lifetime hunting licenses can be revoked for people who are in arrears.
At least $20,000 has already been collected as a result of the warning letters, Ponce said. SRS officials are hopeful the new law will be effective in reducing unpaid child support.